Bonus Kids

I was debating whether or not to include the “bonus children” on the series of relationships and after much thought, no bourbon, I think I will. I rather like the term “bonus children” or “bonus kids” because they are exactly that, bonuses. Surely anyone who has ever been through a blended family experience knows that the blending of families is a tenuous business at best but if you work hard at it there are great blessings to be had.

The hardest part of analyzing the relationships between myself and Cpt. Loran and Suz is the simple fact I wasn’t there during their younger years so I obviously do not have the long line of remembrances to draw from. This doesn’t mean I don’t have a “wow” and a “regret” section, it just isn’t as developed.

That being said, I think I will combine the two of them in one blog.

Things about Cpt. Loran that make me go “wow”
He is extremely confident and charming.
He definitely has a great intelligence and a creative mind.
I’ve only read a sampling of his writing but his ability is obviously deep and he has tremendous potential.
I have watched him grow from a “I don’t want to work kid” to a young man who now realizes the potential impact he has on underprivileged kids.
He has matured amazingly in the last six months.

Things about Suz that make me go “wow”
She is absolutely fearless when it comes to challenges she has decided to conquer.
What a wit!
She is creative in her writing and her dramatic abilities.
She has taken on swimming and is on the swim team which requires such hard work and commitment.
She has really blossomed since starting high school. There is very little shyness left in her and the confidence she has is worthy of applause.

Regrets… I am sure there are some but none pop into my mind at this time. I think regrets typically come over lifetimes and hopefully there won’t be many.
She

Leave a comment